Idle Chatter

Weekend Project: Building my website

I put together a minimum viable product for my personal site today. All I really want (for now) is a place to put useful links, my favorite comics and a blog.

I used a CSS template called Sakura that performs some bare minimum formatting to make my HTML presentable on both desktop and phones, and that's it.

Still unsure about the blog. I like Bear. I could self host but I really don't want to deal with Wordpress. I like static site generators, but there are a couple problems:

  1. How do I make the writing -> posting pipeline as frictionless as possible.
  2. How do I make sure I don't forget how to use/setup that pipeline in the future after I haven't touched my site in a long time?

The answer is most likely that I stick with Bear or suck it up and install Wordpress. Bleh.